Howard Early Childhood Center, formerly known as Howard Elementary, opened the door to its students in 1955. Designed by Harvey P. Smith, Howard was comprised of a flat-roofed, red brick building, which had a distinctive, angular, blue and green mosaic tile façade with the school’s name in metal cursive letters.
Howard was named after John F. “Jack” Howard who came to the Alamo Heights district as superintendent in 1927 and served until his passing in 1933, at age 62. Referred to as a “mathematical genius” by the Alamo Heights News, Howard graduated high school at the age of 12 and soon after enrolled in college at age 13 in Canada. After graduating, Howard traveled toward Mexico, but stopped in San Antonio and found a job teaching at West Texas Military Academy. He then went on to serve as principal of San Antonio’s Main Avenue High School and then was offered the superintendent position at Alamo Heights. Under his direction, the Alamo Heights curriculum expanded its academic emphasis to include art,music, public speaking, dramatics, home economics, and health education.
James W. Cunningham served as Howard Elementary’s first principal from 1955-79, and then was followed by Elvira Ortiz from 1979-84, who later went on to become the first principal of what became Howard Early Childhood Center.
Howard Early Childhood Center is unique in its incorporation of curriculum for children ages 3-6 that are transitioning into the school setting. Filled with energy and creativity Howard helps develop young minds for their future.